in ,

Footage reveals referee and VAR gifted Mbappe extra-time penalty by missing the obvious

Lionel Messi scored an extra-time goal against France in the World Cup final in what seemed to be the winning goal

But Kylian Mbappe was handed a penalty five minutes from time after his shot struck the outstretched arms of Gonzalo Montiel. Mbappe stepped up and completed his hat-trick from the spot to force the game to penalties.

However, footage have shown that Kingsley Coman‘s corner was handled in the air by France defender Dayot Upamecano before Mbappe’s shot was handled by Montiel.

It’s surprising that the referee, who was standing a few yards from the play, and VAR missed the incident before deciding a penalty for France was the legitimate call.

This mistake might’ve led to Argentina losing the World Cup on penalties but it will go under the radar as that wasn’t the case.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *